Andreas Ostholt (GER)

Andreas Ostholt (GER)

Discipline - Eventing

Hometown - Warendorf (GER)

Number of years riding - I started when I was 13 years old, before then I did modern pentathlon.

Main career accomplishments to date:

  • • 10th place (ind.) WEG Caen (FRA) 2014
  • • Gold medal German Championships Luhmühlen (GER) 2011
  • • Winner CICO*** Waregem (BEL) 2014
  • • Winner CCI*** Bialy Bor (POL) 2013
  • • Winner CIC*** Sopot (POL) 2013
  • • 8th place CCI**** Luhmühlen (GER) 2010

Tell us about your first horse/pony:

My first horse was called Wajazzo, and he was a very big chestnut out of my father´s yard.

How did you get started in your discipline?

It was almost inevitable that I would end up as an eventer as both my father and my older brother Frank evented as well.

Mentor/idol when growing up?

Blyth Tait was my idol when I was young.

Proudest career moment?

Winning the German Championships with Franco Jeas because nobody (apart from myself) believed in this horse.

Why do you ride?

I like the daily challenges and gaining the horses” trust.

If you weren”t a professional rider, what would you be?

A farmer!

Where is your favourite holiday destination?

Usually I don't go on holiday but I like visiting my wife”s former home in Bavaria.

How do you unwind?


Do you have a good luck charm, and if so, what is it?

Yes, a stripey cross-country shirt.

What is your favourite Ariat product?

My favourites are the Ariat Men's Bromont tall H2O boots and the Ariat Men's Team waterproof jacket.